e. Roman Catholic. Catholics may voluntarily abstain from eating meat on
Fridays and during Lent. They do not eat or drink (except water) before taking Holy
Communion. They fast on Good Friday and Ash Wednesday, but a priest may excuse
the elderly or an ill patient.
f. Seventh Day Adventists. Seventh Day Adventists do not drink alcohol,
coffee, or tea. They are usually lacto-ovo vegetarians.
a. Because of the dangers of too much animal protein resulting in health
problems or for ecological reasons, many people have chosen to be vegetarians. They
do not eat any type of meat. Some vegetarian diets are stricter than others.
(1) Lacto vegetarians eat plant foods and dairy products. They do not eat
Ovo vegetarians eat plant foods and eggs. They do not eat dairy
Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat plant foods, dairy products, and eggs.
(4) Fruitarians consume a diet that consists chiefly of fruits, nuts, olive oil,
and honey. They do not eat any animal products.
Vegans eat only plant foods.
b. The greatest concern in the vegetarian diet is attaining adequate amounts of
complete protein. This is easy in the lacto-ovo vegetarian diet, but difficult for the
vegan. The most efficient protein available is that found in dairy products, eggs, and
fish. Among the sources of protein that can be used most efficiently by the body, meat
actually ranks third. The second best supply of efficient protein is legumes, soybeans,
nuts, and brown rice.
c. Complete proteins are needed to sustain life and to promote growth.
Incomplete protein sources can be combined to become a complete protein.
(1) Grain may be combined with brewer's yeast, with milk and cheese, with
nuts and milk or legumes. Examples are cereal and milk, a peanut butter sandwich and
milk or yogurt, a cheese sandwich; rice cooked in milk, and baked beans with nut bread.
(2) Grain with dried beans or wheat germ and nuts, grain with egg, and
grain with cheese. Examples are a poached egg on toast, macaroni and cheese, and a
tortilla with cheese.